Sunset in the Ring of Kerry

Today let’s look at a picture I got out of the window of a bus at sunset.  We were going through the Ring of Kerry in Ireland and as we went by a bit of the ocean, I grabbed a shot out of the bus window, and I’m so glad I didn’t get any reflection or glare.  The picture I grabbed looked like this straight out of the camera.

Sunset Ocean - Original

I really love this picture, but I wanted more color in the sky, and a bit more contrast in the back-lit skyline.  I took the Clarity all the way up to 100.  I’m sure there are some major downsides tho this action, especially when you have a clear line between everything, but with back-lit nature of this photograph, I didn’t ever see any ill effects as I worked with it.  From there I upped both the Vibrance and Saturation up into the 30’s to get the color of the sky to pop.

I did a little sharpening and noise reduction, and here is what I ended up with.

Sunset Ocean - Final

Any thoughts?

3 responses to “Sunset in the Ring of Kerry

  1. I like both shots really. The first shot is stunning in it’s simplicity and I really notice the water, which I love. The 2nd shot with the color of the sky, it grabs my attention and the water isn’t as noticeable. Nothing wrong with that though.:) 2nd photo is warmer too, which is nice.

    So I can’t pick. I just think the photos are great! 🙂

    • Thank you Katie, it’s good to hear the opinions of others. 🙂 And I love compliments, I think they make it easier to keep going with something new, like photography for me.

      I do have a tendency to always look to the sky, I’m a cloud watcher and I can’t help it, I’m also entranced with all the colors that the sky is able to make. I think 3 or 4 times a week, my wife hears, “Look at the sky right there, isn’t that beautiful?” When I saw this picture originally, my immediate thought was, “What can I do with the sky, this didn’t capture exactly what I saw, that yellow was intense”. I never even noticed the water because it wasn’t what I was looking for. Maybe I should try to find a balance between the two, a place where both the water and the sky are able to be both present and have their presence be known.

Leave a Reply

