The Green Waves of Grass at O’Brian’s Tower

The Cliffs of Moher are gorgeous and they have this giant dropoff to the ocean that just makes you feel so tiny and insignificant. When you visit, there’s only about a half mile of area that you are “allowed” to walk along, and it’s all walled in.  When you start looking, you have this desire to just look at the great majesty of the actual cliffs, especially if you have been in Ireland for a while and the greens have started to burn their way into your eyesight.  However, running through my photos from the trip and the cliffs I noticed this picture of O’Brian’s Tower and I was a little stunned by the green.  I guess my eyes have had time to adjust back to Kentucky green.

Here’s a photo of the tower to start out with.

The waves of green in the gas are so amazing

 

After I finished with that, I decided to try something new.

Instead of taking bracketed photos and running them through photomatix to make an HDR, I decided to try a new strategy that I saw on someone else’s blog.  I don’t know if I’m making a real HDR image with this, but it was definitely different than what I expected.

I took the photo above, and then also exported it in B&W.  After that, I put those two photos into photomatix, lied to it about the exposure levels, and then did some work on the separate bars.  trying to get the exposure to look a little more like a painting without going overboard.  The waves in the grass are just so defined and different in this picture, the sky is gloomier than I would have liked, but I guess that will happen when you have greyish clouds to start with and merge them with a black and white photo.

Anyway, without too much extra chatter on my part, here’s the “HDR” version of this photo, even though it isn’t truly HDR.  I do wish I didn’t have all those people walking around up there, but this one is definitely a change.

Here's my Psuedo-HDR Image of O'Brian's Tower at the Cliffs of Moher

2 responses to “The Green Waves of Grass at O’Brian’s Tower

    • Thank you for the comment and the encouragement. I have to say, the Cliffs of Moher where this was taken is singly the most beautiful place I’ve ever been. It’s hard NOT to get a fantastic photograph out there so long as there isn’t fog.

Leave a Reply

