Decisions Decisions

I have 3 separate posts that I have a desire to make, but I don’t want to post them all at once.  (Or write them all at once for that matter)  Deciding which post to go through tonight has been a bit of a chore.  But I think I will post the one that I want help with.

So, I still struggle with sunset/sunrise photographs.  I originally went down for this shot off the side of a major road (How many other people find themselves pulling off the road for a photo) because there is this tree that several birds of prey tend to sit on (no leaves, just branches) and I wanted to get them in front of the sunset.  The spot is less than a mile from my house.  As I came home, they were perched on the tree waiting for me to return with my camera, as I came back, they were gone (5 minutes later).

So instead, I found a shot of the nice sunset that I liked and made an HDR of it.  So here’s my problem.  I can’t seem to find a way to fix the white tree/silhouette issue that came from this shot.  I’ll show the shot then explain the issue.

So you see the tall stick of a tree.  It has white bark, which I like, but overall, I wanted a general set of silhouettes against the sky, but at the same time, I wanted to merge all the shots into one.  What I ended up with is a white bottom of the tree, but a silhouette on top.  I want one or the other, does anyone know how to do it?  Everything I tried showed some obvious sign of my work that was unacceptable.

Also, as an aside, I love that skinny branch of a tree sticking up farther than all the other trees that are originating on a hill behind it, it’s so neat!

4 responses to “Decisions Decisions

  1. This is a pretty shot. 🙂 Just so nice with the dark and the colors. Too bad about the birds of prey though. That would be such a cool shot. I don’t know how HDR folk fix the white tree issue. Do you have an exposure where the white bark is actually dark? If so, I’d just layer the two images and then use the eraser tool to erase the trunk of the tree. Again, I’m not an HDR person, so I’m not sure if that helps at all. 🙂

  2. Unless you’re going to go in and burn out all the undergrowth visible in the foreground, I’m not sure I would worry about the tree trunk. It does stand out a little more than the other things, but there are smaller branches of the same color slightly further to the right; so overall I think they somewhat balance each other.
    Otherwise, I don’t know what to tell you using the tools you have…and I’m assuming you don’t have a Burn Tool?

    • Well, I wouldn’t mind the trunk being white if the whole tree was, it’s just that it goes from white on the bottom to black on top, I just wanted it to be consistent up the entire tree. I also just want to know how to do it for future reference. I agree that it won’t make a big impact, but hey, for me right now, it’s all about learning to use the tools I have or finding ones for times I need them.

      You are right, my present toolkit doesn’t deal in layers and I don’t have a Burn Tool. I did come across ononesoftware that has a layer tool as well as some other stuff and they have a free 30 day trial I’m thinking about testing out. If I like it, I may consider it in the future. I think I could do what I want with that program, I’m just not sure. Like I said, I’m considering giving it a try to see what it can do.

      Anyway, if I do, I may employ your help in figuring out how layering works and things of that nature, since you are my resident expert.

Leave a Reply

