Pretty Plants

So, I decided to get a little creative on this one, and while some are just going to be basic shots, I took a little artistic license which I’ll explain a little later.  To start out with, I took two shots of our Clematis out front.  Now, it’s worth mentioning that this thing bloomed all summer/spring like a champ.  But now it has 1 bud left, that’s been there forever, and doesn’t seem to want to bloom.  It’s to the point where the clematis looks like it is about to die for the winter (or whatever it’s called when plants go away for the winter) and this thing is still hanging in there.

There’s one side, here’s the other.

From there, I have a few more interesting and artistic shots of other flowers.

One is this plant that is really cool looking, but I have no idea what it is.  It looks like these red spirals and while it’s obvious I need to clean out its bed, here it is:

When we picked out our plants for landscaping, this one was my choice and I was adamant about wanting it.  It’s just such a cool looking plant!  And after a rain, I just wanted to see if I could get some interesting water drop photos.  Here’s a leaf with drops reflecting the sun on it.

And finally, here’s where I feel I took artistic license.  I don’t know if I have to pass a course to get that license, or maybe an “artistic test” so maybe I did this illegally, but I overexposed this shot on purpose.  It was HARSH sunlight during the day, and I noticed how the edges of this rose were white from all the sun, instead of red.  I know you lose detail when you expose like this, and you can’t really see the veins on the rose like you can with properly exposed shots, but I love how the rose just shines!  To me it is just a beautiful thing, even if it doesn’t follow the rules, but maybe that’s just me.

And then I didn’t like how bright the background was too, so I made some changes to the rest of the picture.  And here’s my final result.  I’d love to hear what people think.

2 responses to “Pretty Plants

Leave a Reply

