Wait For Me!

So, I have tried to avoid spending too much time on lightroom editing and the specifics of the settings for my camera, but today, I did a lot more work on this photo than I have in the past, so I felt it deserved to be shown through several iterations.

The original shot was taken with my Olympus E-PL2 during a sunset with the Olympus 40-150mm Lens.  It was set to ISO 200, and zoomed all they way in at 150mm.  f/5.6 with a shutter speed of 1/640 sec.

Here’s what popped out of the camera.

 

From here I started working in Lightroom.

The first thing I did from here is crop the image down and decide what I wanted the image to show.  I decided that I wanted to focus on the trailing bird, but there was one bird in between him and his group, so I used the spot removal tool to take out the second bird from the left.  I wanted it to look like he was trying to catch up.  I then played with the color sliders for individual colors.  I took the saturation up for Orange to +40 and the Yellow up to +20.  I also took the Hue for Blue more toward the green side and this was the result.

Now looking at the top center, you can see the green, while playing with it I liked it, but after exporting it, I thought it looked, unnatural and a little crummy.  So I took out that hue and the vignetting that I added in.  I upped the clarity to +50 and upped the overall vibrance to +17.  Here’s the view after that.

Finally, I upped the Contrast to +50 and exported out this final product.  While the changes between the three edited images are minor, I think I like the last one the best.  What do you guys think, what could I do different that would help this image?

Leave a Reply

