Fake Painting with Photography

So, I can’t sleep recently, it’s a malady that I can’t seem to get past.  I have so much trouble actually falling asleep that I find myself staring at the wall in the dark for hours, and sometimes, picking up my phone and doing some research on fun things to do with photography.

The other night, I came across a person asking how to make their photos look like paintings, and even further, I found a tutorial on how to do it in Photoshop.  I decided to give it a try, I do have a range of photos that I can attempt to change, and while it’s an interesting idea, I think it only works well with some photos, and even more so, you have to do it right.  I don’t know if I really did a good job of it, it definitely changed the looks of the photos without being drastic, I hear there are programs where you can actually “make” the brush strokes, and that would probably be highly superior to adding a few layers of filters, but anyway, I decided to take 3 photos from the zoo, and make “paintings” of them.  What do you guys think?

The Original

"Painted"

This one changed the least.  Two more after the break if you want to see…

"Painted"

And one more, with a photo from yesterday to start with

The Original

"Painted"

Overall, it’s an interesting effect that is a bit hard to see if you don’t zoom in, but it wasn’t what I really wanted, I hear Corel Painter X let’s you actually do brush strokes, and maybe that’s not true, but I think I won’t really be interested in this “style” unless I find something more like that.

Anyway, I have to say though, that the Flamingo picture above is one of my absolute favorites from the trip to the zoo. 🙂

What do you guys think?

3 responses to “Fake Painting with Photography

  1. I like the flamingo one. It actually looks like a painting. The other two are nice but I see your point, that it is almost hard to tell a difference. Keep playing, you will find your photography converted to painting zen.

    • I agree, and thank you. I do think a big part of what affected the flamingo is that that particular photo is zoomed way in (cropped to a small shot), and the other two are much closer to the original size, so the filter is more prevalent as it’s zoomed as well.

      I’ll figure it out, it was mostly a fun little test just to play with something I saw, but I thought some people might like it.

  2. From a ‘professional’ opinion, those don’t look like paintings; they look like photos with pre-made Photoshop filters applied to them — just like the tutorial you linked to. The only place it looks remotely realistic is in places like the water around the flamingo, places that are already blurred and semi-abstract to begin with. Around hard edges, like the flamingo itself, it just looks like Photoshop filters to me.

    I do think some of the hue/saturation changes (Tutorial step #2) have added some nice vibrancy to your originals, but overall I prefer the original photos to the ‘painted’ versions.

Leave a Reply

