Fire Exit Tested

So, again looking through work at some run down urban warehouse, I come across a very interesting site.  In places where flammable things are stored, you often find “Fire Exits”  What you don’t often find, is a used one…

Here’s an HDR I took of what appears to be a used Fire Exit.  How do you think it did?

Canon T3i – Canon 50mm f/1.8 lens : ISO 400, 50mm, f/10, 10sec : 2.5sec : 30sec – Mixed in Photomatix

Now I did a lot of post production work to get this particular image, that I’m very happy with; however I felt that this particular scene would show very well in black and white. (Or maybe closer to a sepia) so I also have a rendition in B&W with a very slight yellow/orange highlight tone.

I would love to hear which one people enjoyed the most out of the two.  I know my favorite, but what is yours?

5 responses to “Fire Exit Tested

    • mjray, thanks for stopping by. I do agree there’s definitely something different about the black & white one that gives it a more, maybe ominous feel. I completely agree with you.

      I personally like the color one, but mostly for the color/texture it has at the bottom of the wall where the white is. 🙂

  1. The color one, by far.

    The original shot is already almost monochromatic, the door, the wall, the jamb or all about the same color; beyond that it’s all black and white tones. Except for the red of the sign, which acts as a great accent to the overall composition as it jumps out of the scene by virtue of being the only color. Plus, in the monochromatic version, you lose a lot of the definition of the scorching to the door. On casual glance it just looks like a dirty derelict door, but in the color version it looks like what it is: charcoal and ash. The content is much more defined as the scorch marks are a different set of tones from the rest of the door; they’ve lost all of the cream color from the surrounding area as they burned.

    As for the photo in general, I really REALLY want those floating pieces of wood along the left edge to go away, and for more of the empty door frame to be visible. The pieces of wood distract from the composition, and I imagine you could get a nice underlying content (story) by juxtaposing the burned Fire Exit door with the exit portal it has abandoned.

    • You’ll be so happy, I had to borrow a wide angle lens for it, but I found a way to get rid of the wood AND get the frame. I’ll post it here in a day or two when I get around to processing it.

      It was NOT a comfy position to take a photo from though…

Leave a Reply

