Beautiful Tree

So, everyday I drive by this tree that I think has a beautiful silhouette and I’m always driving by it at sunset.  I finally decided I was going to pull off the road and force myself to take the photo.  I wasn’t aware of the fence near the tree, and I didn’t know I’d be climbing down a very steep hill to get the photo, but I went ahead and did it.  I went with a lot of different angles and views, but I have picked my two favorite to share.

First, I have the tree framed by a couple of the weeds that were standing up on the hill.  This angle was able to block the view of the fence, which I love about this angle.  I also like the framing, though I do feel it detracts from the tree itself.  Regardless, here’s the shot.

Canon T3i 18-55mm kit lens: ISO 400, 24mm, f/4.0, 1/500 sec

And the second shot gives me an unframed shot, but it has just the tree in all its glory with more of the trunk.  It does, however, show the fence and the brighter area where the sun is going down.  Here is that shot.

Canon T3i 18-55mm Kit lens: ISO 400, 18mm, f/4.0, 1/400 sec

I’m pretty satisfied with these shots and I like the way they turned out.  I’m fairly certain I was trespassing, so I didn’t stay all the way through the sunset, just about 15 minutes of it, but I think it was worthwhile.  What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

