Staring at a Black and White Page

First things first, I need your help.  I’m trying to figure out if my monitor’s brightness is too high, and it for some reason doesn’t have a “factory reset button”.  So I’m posting two pictures, the first one looks correctly exposed to me, the second looks too bright.  I move them to another monitor, and the first looks too dark.  Can you guys just leave a comment to let me know if the first photo is too dark, or the second is too light for you?  I would really appreciate the help.  And now to the normal blog post:

So, as I mentioned, there are a lot of certifications that are expected of me in a very short amount of time for my new job.  What comes with certifications?  Studying, staring at a bunch of text on a white page.  In light of the fact that I am being forced to stare at a bunch of black and white only, I’m bringing forth a black and white photo to share the love.

This is the tiger at our local zoo in black and white.  She’s really a beautiful creature, and I loved photographing her, so here’s me sharing her beauty.  I hope I did her justice.

Canon T3i – EX 75-300mm f/4-5.6 lens: ISO 320, 150mm, f/5.0, 1/200 sec

And here’s the lighter version.

 

And while I’m at it, I decided to just try out the sunset tree shot I did earlier in black and white.  After some editing, I found that I enjoyed the clouds a lot this way, so I’d share it too.  Nothing special, just another black and white shot.

8 responses to “Staring at a Black and White Page

  1. In my opinion, it’s a little bit of both shots. The top part of the photo looks better in the lighter version and the bottom half looks better in the darker version. I would go with the lighter version and burn in the lower portion a little (below the tiger’s head). A touch more contrast would help also. Hope that helps.

    I understand your problem. I did a lot of photos while on the road last year using my laptop and I had no idea what they looked like! Most of those looked too dark after I got home.

    • Thanks for the help! On the top one, on my main monitor, the eyes are visible, on my secondary, they are black pits. That’s the type of thing I’m seeing and can’t tell which one is right!

      It’s good to hear the top one isn’t so dark as to be bad, that means my other monitor is a little dark at least.

  2. I love the first one, looks more dramatic that the 2nd. To me, sometimes the darker of the B&W picture, the more interesting. Awesome shot of the scenery below.

Leave a Reply

